Canon SX10 IS – An Excellent SuperZoom Digital Camera

I have always been a great fan of Canon point and shoot cameras. We have owned a Canon A75, Canon SD450, Canon SD1100 IS.

Although I had secretly harbored an interest in learning the art of photography, it hasn’t come to fruition until now. My wife got me this little beauty of a digital camera – Canon PowerShot SX10 IS for Christmas. It has now rekindled this desire in me to grow my photography skills.

Even though it is technically a point & shoot camera, it falls under the superzoom cameras as it has a whopping 20x optical zoom!

Let’s look at a few features of this camera:

Canon SX10 IS Features

  • 10 Megapixel resolution with 20x Optical zoom
  • Wide-angle to telephoto lens & Optical Image Stabilization
  • A superzoom lens with a focal length of 5.0-100mm (35mm film equivalent: 28-560mm)
  • Latest Canon DIGIC 4 processor with improved face detection
  • A flip-out vari-angle 2.5 inch LCD for flexible viewing
  • Electronic view finder for those sunny days when you can’t see the LCD image
  • Face Self-Timer – automatically detects increase in number of faces and makes adjustments
  • MovieSnap – lets you capture high-res images while shooting videos
  • Takes SD/SDHC cards and AA batteries

Features I Like

The above features are the ones you’ll see on any product listing page for this camera. But, what is a blog post without personal likes & dislikes, right?

Coming from compact point & shoots, it is going to take a bit for me to get used to the heft. But, if you have used or handled any DSLR’s, this weighs less than those models and it is even very convenient to shoot one handed.

Although the 2.5″ LCD is smaller compared to the 3″ in many models, the flip out screen is sure to come in handy at times you have shoot over people or with the ground.

Now, the superzoom lens that provides from a wide-angle 28mm to a telephoto 560mm is just incredible with this camera. It provides for a lot of new options for me when capturing pictures and I am very excited to put it to some good use in our upcoming trip to St Louis.

I had wanted to buy a DSLR like the Canon Digital Rebel XSi (kit with a 18mm-56mm lens sells for around $634) to kickstart this long desired hobby of mine but it might have been an overkill at this point. [Update: I did buy the Canon EOS Rebel T1i at an awesome price. Read more about it here]

As you might know, buying a DSLR involves buying the camera body plus the different lenses for different kinds of shooting and some of those lenses even run as much as the camera body itself.

Canon PowerShot SX10 IS lets me learn the fundamentals of photography and test out my creative skills with my newly acquired photographic wisdom with all kinds of manual controls you would come to use in a DSLR, without breaking the bank. Also, I can take this out with me in any occasion without having to lug around a typical DSLR gear.

Canon absolutely has impressed me with its imaging abilities in the past and Canon SX10 IS is no different. In fact, it has gotten me excited like a kid in a candy store.

And all this at an affordable price of $339.88 at Amazon.com (at the time of writing).

If you’d like more in depth reviews of Canon SX10 IS. here are a few links I poured over every line before and after making the purchase.

My $0.02

If you are like me with an interest in becoming an advanced amateur photographer, Canon SX10 IS could be your ticket to that dream. It is even favored by professional photographers (Canon SX10 IS Flickr group) when they can’t lug around their DSLR gear. I look forward to growing as a photographer with this excellent toy of mine. I am already starting in shoot in Aperture Priority mode and learning all about it. :wink:

Don’t worry if you don’t know what that is or afraid if your wife/husband won’t understand it. SX10 also features the usual Auto mode and advanced Scene modes that’s suitable for different situations.

Here is a picture I took indoors with this camera.

First pic with my SX10

I do have a bias for Canon but I hear the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ28S is also a worthy alternative in the superzoom category offering a 18x optical zoom. In fact one of the reviews above compares the Canon with this camera in great detail and they almost come out even.

Hope you enjoyed this exuberant post of mine about my early Christmas gift. I figured it could help you out if you were looking to buy a digital camera for a Christmas gift.

There are plenty of Canon digital SLR cameras and Canon digital cameras online.

Merry Christmas & Happy Holidays!!! :lol:

[Source: Canon SX10 IS review]

Explore Tags: , , ,

19 Responses to “Canon SX10 IS – An Excellent SuperZoom Digital Camera”

  1. Amir December 23, 2008 at 7:07 am #

    Congratulations!
    I am a fan of photography too, i know what you feel!
    Merry Christmas

  2. Chris December 23, 2008 at 9:08 am #

    I went down the route of the XTi from my Canon A85 & I don’t regret it at all. Amazing camera & I’d find it hard to go back to a straight Point & Shoot.

    I think yours is what’s known as a ‘Bridge’ camera and I can see the attraction, looks a smart piece of kit. Are you on (or will be on) Flickr?

    Chriss last blog post..Crovie

  3. K December 23, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    Amir, thanks a lot. It does feel great.. :-)

    Chris, great to see you man.. I do pour over your cool pictures at AutoFocused time and again. XTi or XSi is going to be my next purchase only I’d trust myself to use it to its capability. You hit it spot on calling it a ‘bridge’ camera. That’s exactly what I intend to use it as.. going from being an amateur to hopefully and advanced amateur. Note that I avoid the word ‘professional’.. :lol:

    Also, we are friends on Flickr I think.. but I am about to sort those pics out as I have it polluted with my blogging screenshots, et al.

    Cheers mate!

  4. Chris December 23, 2008 at 11:41 am #

    Hi K

    I’ve had a few months generally away from the web & my memories not what it was :-(

    Look forward to seeing your new shots, and I give it 6 months before you get your first SLR :lol: I’m saving up for my new lens……..

    Chriss last blog post..Crovie

  5. K December 23, 2008 at 2:27 pm #

    Yeah, I have certainly missed you at Blog-op! I meant to link to my Flickr profile in my last comment but here it is. :-) Merry Christmas, my friend.

  6. Zath December 26, 2008 at 2:54 pm #

    This looks really cool and getting my first “proper” camera (a digital SLR) is on the cards for the next few months.

    Is this the Canon which also takes HD video? I’m unsure at this point whether I should go for this/that one which features it – I’m guessing it could come in really useful for a blogger.

  7. Agnus December 30, 2008 at 3:26 am #

    I prefer cameras with digital zoom rather than optical,because the zoom camera crops the entire image, and then digitally enlarges it.

    Agnuss last blog post..Des Moines, Iowa

  8. Chris December 30, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    How is that a good thing Agnus? Digital zooms lead to a loss in quality, you should go for optical every time.

    Chriss last blog post..Crovie

  9. Lily @ Types of Flowers January 14, 2009 at 9:20 am #

    You are lucky to have such a wife who makes you perfect presents. Canon SX10 IS is a dream for the one who is fond of photography art.

  10. Canon Powershot SX10 IS January 27, 2009 at 9:51 pm #

    Yet another Canon digital that is good enough to be interesting :)

    I’m currently looking into buying a new digital and this one certainly is in the top 3!
    Just waiting to see if any new stuff is anounced in the next few days/weeks…

    Canon Powershot SX10 ISs last blog post..Nikon Coolpix P6000

  11. aisai May 24, 2009 at 5:36 am #

    my detail is good,my digic 4 and flower image is nice

    aisais last blog post..Canon Powershot SX10IS 10MP Digital Camera (20x Optical Zoom)

  12. Kayleigh October 25, 2009 at 10:10 am #

    Canon SD780IS is the perfect travel/everyday camera. It weighs a little over 4 ounces. The size of the camera is astonishing. It is smaller than my iPhone 3G and my wallet. I love the new 720p video recording HD feature on the 2009 Canon P S line. The image stabilization for video/image stills is a winner. The clips are sharper and clearer than the clips from the Creative Vado HD and the Flip Video MinoHD.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Canon A75 Digital Camera Reviews - December 30, 2008

    [...] A75 Digital Camera Reviews Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Review ShanKrila Canon PowerShot SX10 IS Review ShanKrila is also a nice [...]

  2. Best Gloves for iPhone & iPod Touch - Etre Touchy | Top iPhone Resource - January 15, 2009

    [...] fact, it even helps operating our recent Canon SX10 IS – digital camera purchase with ease when we shooting [...]

  3. Nikon Learn & Explore iPhone App | Top iPhone Resource - November 2, 2009

    [...] to very handy for me as I am always trying to remember the photography terms while playing with my Canon SX10 IS.  Plus, you can save your favorite articles, images, and glossary terms for immediate [...]

  4. Best Deal on Canon EOS Rebel T1i DSLR + EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS Lens + EF-S 55-250mm f/4.0-5.6 IS Telephoto Lens | ShanKrila - November 3, 2009

    [...] stepped up into an advanced amateur photography domain with Canon SX 10 purchase a few months back and have had nothing but fun with that [...]

  5. Canon Rebel T1i $500 Off Pro Printer Combo Deal | ShanKrila - December 12, 2009

    [...] from a Canon point & shoot family where I have had an A70, a SD450 and then a bridge camera – Canon Powershot SX10 IS. It is with the Canon SX10 IS, I started venturing beyond the traditional Auto & Scene [...]

  6. Best Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZS3 Mega Zoom Camera Deal | ShanKrila - December 19, 2009

    [...] am a big Canon fan and own a Canon Rebel T1i and a Canon Powershot SX10 IS. I have written several posts on camera deals [...]

  7. Good Photography Podcasts for Beginners | ShanKrila - December 24, 2009

    [...] have moved from taking pictures casually with a point and shoot camera to a bridge camera like the Canon SX10 IS superzoom digital camera. Now, I learnt enough basics to move on to the next level of photography and bought my first [...]

Leave a Reply